When Birth Control Fails

Abortion Laws for Teens by State

No parent wants to imagine their adolescent having an abortion. However, thousands and thousands of teen girls become pregnant each year in the United States. And nearly all of those pregnancies are unplanned. 

Teen pregnancies have sharply declined over the past decade thanks to increased attempts aimed at educating young people about birth control. However, the United States still has one of the highest teen pregnancy rates in the industrialized world.

While no state requires parental consent for contraception, the diplomatic laws for adolescents vary greatly by state. Some countries require parental notification, others need approval, and some states don’t require any sort of parental participation.

Most states have specific provisions for teenagers who experience medical problems and for people who have become pregnant as a result of incest or sexual abuse.

Here are the present abortion laws for adolescents by state:

Alabama

  • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
  • Enables minor to skip parent’s approval by obtaining a court consent.

Alaska

  • When the girl is under the age of 17, the condition requires parental consent from 1 parent 48 hours before the abortion.
  • A judge can excuse a minor from this requirement.

Arizona

  • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
  • Allows minor to skip parent’s consent by acquiring a court approval.

Arkansas

  • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
  • Allows minor to bypass parent’s approval by obtaining a court consent.

California

  • No parental participation required.

Colorado

  • Requires one parent be informed of this decision 48 hours before the abortion.
  • Allows small to skip parent by acquiring a court consent.
  • If the minor lives with an adult relative other than a parent, the adult relative might be advised of the abortion instead of the parent.

    Connecticut

    • No parental involvement required.

    Delaware

    • Requires a parent, grandparent, or mental health practitioner be informed of the little’s decision 24 hours prior to the abortion once the girl is under the age of 16. 
    • Allows minor to skip parent by obtaining a court approval.

    Florida

    • Requires one parent be notified 48 hours before the abortion. Parents don’t need to consent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by obtaining a court consent.

    Georgia

    • Requires one parent be notified 24 hours prior to the abortion. Parents do not have to consent.
    • Allows small to skip parent by obtaining a court approval.

    Hawaii

    • No parental participation required.

    Idaho

    • Requires one parent give permission for the abortion.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by obtaining court approval.

    Illinois

    • Requires a parent, step-parent who lives in the home, or grandparent be advised 48 hours prior to the abortion.
    • Enables minor to bypass parent by getting court approval.

    Indiana

    • demands parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent’s approval by obtaining a court approval.

    Iowa

    • necessitates parent or grandparent be notified 48 hours prior to the abortion.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by obtaining a court consent.

    Kansas

    • Requires both parents give permission to get an abortion.If parents are divorced or separated, only the parent with custody needs to give permission. 
    • Enables minor to skip parent by obtaining a court consent.

    Kentucky

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent’s consent by obtaining a court consent.

    Louisiana

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Enables minor to skip parent’s consent by obtaining a court approval.

    Maine

    • No parental participation required. 

    Maryland

    • Requires one parent be informed of the decision. If the minor doesn’t live with either parent and reasonable attempt to give notice is ineffective, permission can be granted.
    • Makes it possible for physicians to excuse the necessity.

    Massachusetts

    • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
    • Enables minor to skip parent’s consent by obtaining a court approval.

    Michigan

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent’s consent by acquiring a court consent.

    Minnesota

    • demands parental notification of parents 48 hours before the abortion.Parents don’t have to consent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by acquiring a court approval.

    Mississippi

    • Requires parental consent by both parents.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent’s consent by obtaining a court consent.

    Missouri

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent’s consent by obtaining a court approval.

    Montana

    • No parental participation required.

    Nebraska

    • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent by acquiring a court approval.

    Nevada

    • No parental involvement required.

    New Hampshire

    • Requires one parent be informed of the decision 48 hours before the abortion.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent by obtaining court approval.

    New Jersey

    • No parental involvement required.

    New Mexico

    • No parental involvement required.

    New York

    • No parental involvement required.

    North Carolina

    • Requires parental consent from 1 parent, or a grandparent with whom the minor has resided with for six weeks, to provide permission to the abortion.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by acquiring a court approval.

    North Dakota

    • Requires parental consent from both parents.
    • Allows small to skip parent by acquiring a court consent.

    Ohio

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent by acquiring a court consent.

    Oklahoma

    • Requires parental notification of one parent 48 hours ahead of time and the parent must provide permission. 
    • Allows minor to skip parent by obtaining a court consent.

    Oregon

    • No parental involvement required.

    Pennsylvania

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent consent by obtaining a court approval.

    Rhode Island

    • Requires parental consent from 1 parent.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by acquiring a court approval.

    South Carolina

    • demands parental consent from 1 parent or grandparent for girls under age 17.
    • Allows small to bypass parent by obtaining a court consent.

    South Dakota

    • Requires parental notification 48 hours before the abortion.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by acquiring a court approval.

    Tennessee

    • Requires parental consent from one parent.
    • Enables minor to bypass parent’ consent by obtaining a court consent.

    Texas

    • Requires parental consent from 1 parent. One parent must be told of this decision 48 hours prior to the abortion.
    • Allows minor to bypass parent consent by acquiring a court consent.

    Utah

    • Requires one parent be informed 24 hours before the abortion and a single parent must give consent.
    • Enables minor to skip parent permission by obtaining a court consent but that parent has to be advised.
    • A judge may excuse the minor from telling a parent if the minor only has one parent and that parent has been abusive and a doctor has reported the abuse to the appropriate authorities. Additionally, a minor may be excused from this requirement if a parent has failed to take responsibility for the little care. 

    Vermont

    • No parental involvement required.

    Virginia

    • necessitates consent from one parent, grandparent, or adult sibling with whom the minor lives.
    • One parent, grandparent, or adult sibling with whom the minor lives have to be advised 24 hours before the abortion.
    • Allows minor to skip parent by acquiring a court approval.

    Washington

    • No parental involvement required.

    West Virginia

    • Requires one parent be informed 24 hours prior to the abortion.
    • A judge or physician can excuse the little from this requirement.

    Wisconsin

    • Requires one parent, foster parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, or sibling who is at least 25 years old give permission for the abortion.
    • Allows small to bypass parent by obtaining a court approval.

    Wyoming

    • demands parental notification 48 hours prior to the abortion and the parent must consent.
    • Enables minor to bypass parental consent by acquiring a court consent.

    Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy

    Hold frequent conversation with your adolescent about difficult subjects, such as gender and birth control.  Providing facts, as well as information about your values, can influence your adolescent’s conclusions.

    Although studies show adolescents are affected by the press, their parents still have the biggest influence on them when it comes to issues such as abortion. 

    Whether you’ve got a son or a daughter, then make it clear you want your child to have the ability to encourage a kid, before having one. 

    Related posts

    What If the Contraceptive Patch Falls Away?

    admin

    Early Abortion Machine Vacuum Aspiration Procedure

    admin

    Fat and Contraception Effectiveness

    admin

    Leave a Comment